Asche Bochor Abar Hobe?

Image

Asche Bochor Abar Hobe: [Bengali Phrase] It will happen again next year, in context with Durga Puja.

Dashami: Tenth and the last day of Durga Puja.

Kichu Bolbe: [Bengali Phrase] Do you want to ask something?

Peas-pulao: Indian recipe made with rice and peas.

 

5 minutes ago…
‘The flight for Delhi is…’ I kept dashing through the airport like a mad man. I had something in my mind. This is not the way I wanted it to be!

The night before…

‘You looked great in that maroon sari!’ I kept walking away from the crowd for a better reception. 
‘You looked handsome too in your blue Kurta…’ I was in love with her voice already. ‘So tell me when are we going to meet tomorrow? I have something to tell you!’ Suddenly my heart beat got faster. ‘Same time! Is something wrong?’ I was perspiring already. ‘Nothing is wrong dear.’ She replied calmly. ‘Okay see you tomorrow, don’t be late. Bye!’ I pocketed the phone and looked at the idol from the distance. I did a silent prayer. I went back inside the pandal and joined the wild crowd. 

The next morning…
As soon as I saw her get down from the cab, I started framing sentences in my head to compliment her. She looked gorgeous and shone brightly with the Dashami morning thanks to her yellow sari. She winked as she came near me and took a bite from the chicken roll in my hand. 
‘You look gre….’ She pulled my hand before I could finish and dragged me inside one of the mall’s lift. As the door closed behind us, she put her hands around me and kissed me passionately. As we left the lift and walked hand in hand, she looked at me and smiled. Red-faced, I smiled as well, remembering all the times we kissed for the past few days.
‘So what was the thing you wanted to tell me?’ I asked her as we ordered our lunch and sat face to face. ‘I love you!’ She said without flinching for a moment, her eyes fixed on mine. ‘And I know you love me too!’ She was right. After spending the last four days with her, I felt life spending the rest of my life with her. ‘Today I’m leaving Kolkata!’ I felt thunderstruck. The fork slipped from my hand and fell on the tiled floor as people stared at us. ‘I will be back after one year. This job is very demanding!’ She played with the peas-pulao with her spoon as she finally looked away from me. I choked like always. I couldn’t find words to say. I felt lost and helpless. Someone screamed in my head repeatedly, ‘Not again!’ 
We ate in silence. After lunch we stood for a while in one of the upper levels of the mall looking at the people walking below in colorful dresses. She leant on me, resting her head on my shoulder. I put my hand around her. She hugged me and said, ‘I am sorry!’ I kissed her forehead and tried to hold back my tears. 
‘I should leave. I have a flight to catch!’ We walked towards the exit. She stopped a cab and when she turned around to look at me, I asked loudly with a smile on my face, ‘Hey girl in purple jeans, when does your flight leave?’ ‘Eight!’ She gave me a flying kiss and waved as the cab left the place. 

Now…
‘The Flight for Delhi, did it leave?’ I asked the help desk lady, still panting for breath. ‘It’s in the runway. I am sorry sir!’ I looked away and looked at the glass walls overlooking the runway. Tears rolled down my cheeks as the very thought of losing her, maybe forever, passed my mind just like the flight, which now had disappeared in the night sky. I wiped my tears and kept staring blankly at the floor. ‘I should have stopped her, or maybe at least tried to stop her!’ I kept thinking. ‘I wish I had said something…’

Just then a bus ticket fell on my lap as someone stood in front of me. I picked it up and saw a sentence written on it…

‘Kichu bolbe?’

To be Contd…

Subho Bijoya… 🙂

PART I: https://abhisheksinha99.wordpress.com/2013/10/06/the-girl-in-purple-jeans/

PART II: https://abhisheksinha99.wordpress.com/2013/10/08/dugga-dugga/

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

